Perseverance – Heat, Hard work, and His blessings

It is ten o’clock in the morning and the “feels like” temperature has already hit 100. The horses have broken into a sweat, as have I. That is one of the most frustrating things about my schedule. Being a teacher, I get the summer “off,” so to speak. Unfortunately, this is the worst time of year to have off in this area, if you want to do more than lounge by a pool or on the couch in the ac. As the school year started winding down, I became increasingly excited about the thought of spending more time in the saddle. I came up with a plan that I would get up in the mornings, work at least one horse each day, and all would be right in the world. Needless to say, that hasn’t happened. A combination of factors have preventing this plan from being put into action, the largest being the heat and humidity. It is projected to get up to 108 today. How is one supposed to be outside in such conditions, let alone ride? Even when I was out at 7am feeding, I was already sweating. It is entirely too hot for horsey things, and the horses agree.

In addition, we (my parents, husband, and I) have been working on getting the last bit of fencing put up around the property, and that is certainly something that you try to do early, before the highest temperatures hit in the afternoon- which is also the best time to ride. We are attempting to get the fencing done soon so that I can turn Kya, April, and Preacher out on what will eventually be a pasture, once we get more of the stumps and brush cleared. The plan is for Kash to move into the area that the horses currently live in, along with the donkeys, who will be her paddock mates. I have so many plans and hopes for this property, but the horse property I envision feels as though it is just beyond my reach. Accomplishing goals like this require hard work, time, and money- the latter two being the most difficult to come by. If I am being honest, sometimes it gets overwhelming and depressing to think about. In those moments, I have to focus on everything that we have accomplished instead of the ever increasing to-do list.

Things we have accomplished since 2016:

-Fenced in nearly all of the 10 acre farm with no-climb horse fence and wooden posts

-Put in new windows on the house

-Replaced the porch railing

-Renovated the guest bedroom (where we still currently sleep)

-Renovated the office area

-Put new wood on the barn

-Added a 40×50 workshop

-Built a chicken coop

-Cleared the trees in the pasture area

Things we still need to do:

-Finish the back fence

-Clear the stumps in the pasture area

-Take down the chain link fencing and replace it with electric fencing

-Build another stall in the barn

-Finish the wood inside the barn

-Add concrete in the feed and tack room

-Put in a driveway to the garage/workshop

-Build a shelter off the side of the garage for the trailers

-Finish the upstairs bathroom

-Renovate the master bedroom

-Get kitchen cabinets

-Run power and water to the barn and the garage

 

We have made a great deal of progress, but we still have a ways to go. This is were the motivation, determination, patience, and perseverance comes in. I have to remind myself of how far we have come, and place my hope in what will the future will bring. God has provided for us greatly thus far, and we are so blessed. Even if it has been hot, I haven’t been able to ride as much as I would like, and the progress on the farm isn’t complete, I still have an absolutely amazing life! The silver lining is that it is hot, but we have ac. I haven’t ridden as much as I had hoped, but I have ridden more in the past month than I have in the past five years (at least) combined! I may not have a lot of money and it has been difficult to work on fencing in the heat, but I have had more time to do it since I’ve been out for the summer and don’t have graduate school taking my time. Also, I have been hired by an online teaching company, so once I get booked with students, I will have more money to put towards my goals with the farm and the horses. No matter what, God continues to provide, and for that, I am beyond thankful- heat or no heat.

Leave a comment